Faculty of Veterinary Medicine



The first national institute of higher education in veterinary medicine was founded by the Ministry of Agriculture in 1932. In 1937, School of Veterinary Sciences was renamed Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and by 1945 it joined University of Tehran. Constructed
in 1950s, the current main campus of the faculty is located at the heart of Tehran metropolis.
This faculty is the backbone of veterinary research and education in Iran. With more than 90 full-time faculty members and adjunct professors teaching and conducting research. Members of the faculty have been honored with prestigious national scientific awards.
Consisting of twelve academic departments, there is a leading role in postgraduate education of veterinary and animal sciences in Iran. Moreover, two Veterinary Research and Teaching Hospitals for small and large animals, two specialized referral clinics for avian species and aquatic animals and several state of the art veterinary centers in the region are located at the university’s facilities. Faculty members and professional veterinary clinicians provide national and international veterinary services.