College of Fine Arts

College of Fine Arts

The College of Fine Arts is one of the oldest, largest and most prestigious colleges of University of Tehran. The college started its activities in November 1939 under the name of "Honarkadeh" [Art School]. When it first opened its doors to students, over seventy years ago, it laid the foundation for academic study of various forms of art in the country. Initially, Architecture, Painting and Sculpture were the primary subjects that were taught.
Today, the College of Fine Arts is an influential and unique center for studying art in all of its different disciplines. Over seven decades after its establishment, it has a special status in Iran and the Middle East, particularly in the areas of Visual Arts, Architecture and Urban Planning.
It was in 2005 that the Faculty of Fine Arts was expanded and renamed College of Fine Arts; consisting of five schools: Architecture, Urban Planning, Industrial Design, Visual Arts, Performing Arts and Music, and the Culture and Arts research institute. At present, College of Fine Arts has over 110 faculty members. Numerous graduates and faculty members from this college are distinguished and well-known figures in the country, and in some cases, internationally. These individuals have won various prestigious awards in art festivals around the world.
The College of Fine Arts is composed of the following schools:

  • School of Architecture
  • School of Urban Planning
  • School of Performing Arts and Music
  • School of Visual Arts
  • School of Industrial Design