About the College


About the College

The foundation of the College goes back to year 1900 when it was first established under the title of “School of Agriculture” in the village of Chardange in Tehran. After six years, the school was developed to the “School of Higher education” and in 1917, the school was moved to the Palace of Soleimanieh in the city of Karaj. In 1921, the school was further expanded and “the School of Higher Agricultural Studies, Rural Handicrafts & Industries” was established with three departments. After two decades of activities in the field of agriculture (in 1940), it was reshaped as the “Faculty of Agriculture (FA)”. In 1949, the FA was finally proclaimed as one of the faculties of the University of Tehran. The ten departments of the FA provided opportunities to admit students in 54 majors and 66 specializations in undergraduate and graduate programs in Agricultural Science & Engineering disciplines.

In 1963, a new institute named “Institute of Forests & Rangelands” was established with due consideration of conservation, renovation, and development of natural resources. Subsequently, the “Faculty of Forestry” was approved by the University of Tehran Council in 1966 and student admissions took place in the same year. In 1972, the faculty was further expanded to the “Faculty of Natural Resources (FNR)” with four departments in 23 majors and 5 specializations in both undergraduate and graduate programs.

In 2004, the two faculties (FA and FNR) were merged and re-structured as “College of Agriculture & Natural Resources ,(UTCAN)”. Currently, UTCAN is composed of four faculties and one international research center as follows, among other institutes affiliated with the state’s higher education.

  • Faculty of Agricultural Economics and Development (FEAD)
  • Faculty of Agricultural Science and Engineering (FASE)
  • Faculty of Natural Resources (FNR)
  • Faculty of Agricultural Engineering and Technology (FAET)
  • International Desert Research Center (IDRC)

Presently, UTCAN stands high both inside the country and abroad because of its scope, precedence and its eminent well experienced faculty members and staff as well as a selection of top students from candidates throughout the country and abroad. Mutual cooperation and collaboration with executive organizations, research and development corporations and institutes along with well equipped laboratories, and diversity of fields of study have added to the credibility of this institute of higher education. UTCAN, with more than 210 outstanding faculty members, offers B.Sc., M.Sc. and Ph.D. programs. Students are admitted to 148 majors and specializations of study through the general entrance exam to pursue their studies in the above four faculties (with 16 departments) and two research institutes (IDRC, and Research Department of Agricultural Biotechnology). More than 4,000 students are currently enrolled in UTCAN from whom about 50% are in their graduate studies.

UTCAN publishes 11 scientific Journals covering all aspects of Agricultural and Natural Resources studies.